My name is Hope and I am a 2nd year middle years education student. I moved back home from B.C after playing university-varsity volleyball for 2 years. Being that i had an active lifestyle growing up it was rare that i was capable of using the internet when it first was introduced to me, and when i did use it i was monitored as well as sent outside to play if my parents thought i was on it for too long. Nowadays i find that i use technology way too much and without noticing even. My dad is a computer programmer and it is handy to have a technologically savvy person readily available to me.
I think that it is very beneficial for technology to be in the classroom and can remember using one of the most basic and only forms used when was in elementary school which was "all the right type". My cousin is only 4 years old and has a Leapster. These handheld gaming devices surprised me when i found her playing and fully comprehending the learning material within the game. It was more or less taught to her by herself or her brother who is only a year or two older than her. It scared me but also intrigued me how easy it is for children to catch on in such a way. We are well aware that age plays a huge role in the development of children's cognitive abilities but i think it has proved just how large of a role it plays when technology starts to be visibly affective in children that are not even in kindergarten yet. In this class i want to be able to understand how children learn so quickly about growing technology and how i can keep up to date with the things they learn on their own time from technology.



Leave a Reply.